Frozen (2013)

For a long while now, Mondays have been for sharing poetry. I’m not sure if I’m going to continue that, but I am planning on changing what I do on Mondays. This doesn’t mean that I’m going to stop accepting poetry submissions.

My new plan for Mondays is literature reviews. I was going to say “book,” but I also love poetry, movies, TV shows, and other forms of creative expression. We may not have access to it, but all of these start out, in part, with the written word.

As I’m sure you’re already aware, reviews of any nature are subjective, so I’ll essentially be expressing my opinion. I’m open to discussion; that is one of the main purposes of a blog, after all. There isn’t going to be any real rhyme or reason to the works I chose each week. I will, of course, write about works after I finish reading or watching them. But, I’ve read and seen plenty of other works that I have much to talk about in between.

I’m thinking that I should do some sort of rating system, especially for movies and TV shows. I keep forgetting that, along with revamping the posts of this site, I need to update and change the pages. For part of this, I’m going to change the weekly posts pages and will include a rating system for my weekly review posts.

Also, in regards to movies and TV shows, I’m going to attempt to refrain from giving any spoilers. I’ll warn you if there are going to be any though.

Rating: 5

Frozen_castposterToday, I’m going to talk about a movie that I saw with my boyfriend on Saturday December 14–Frozen. Now, when trailers first started coming out for this movie, we weren’t sure whether or not we wanted to see it. All of the previews we saw didn’t really tell us what the story of this Disney film was.

While the teaser trailer is funny, it’s bordering on goofy and seemed rather strange, to me at least, for what I’d usually expect from Disney. But then I found an official trailer on YouTube for Frozen today, and I don’t think I’ve seen it anywhere else. In this preview, we meet the main characters and learn the major conflict of the movie. This is something that would have really piqued my interest and made me want to see the movie for the movie, not simply because I love Disney and animated flicks.

In the above photo, you can see the main cast of characters from Frozen. From the left there is Elsa (voice by Indina Menzel), Kristoff (voiced by Jonathan Groff), Olaf the snowman (voiced by Josh Gad), Sven the reindeer, Anna (voiced by Kristen Bell), and Hans (voiced by Santino Fontana).

These characters were unleashed on the world on November 10. Considering the fact that this was a Tuesday, we should have been expecting the swarm of parents and their children at the theater. If we’d considered this, we would’ve left sooner for tickets and seats. As it was, the 3:45 show only had seven seats left that weren’t guaranteed to be near each other, so we decided to see the 4:20 instead. This showing also wound up being packed, but considering the fact that we were there almost an hour early, we were able to get the seats we wanted before it got too crazy.

The story focuses on Anna and Elsa, the only children of the queen and king of the Arendelle. As small children, the sisters were extremely close. Then one day, with no explanation given to Anna, Elsa locks herself away and refuses to have any interactions with her younger sister. On top of that, their parents lock the gates of Arendelle so Anna is essentially left by herself. Later in the story, when the Elsa comes of age, the gates are once again open in celebration. Anna is elated while Elsa can’t wait to get it over with so the gates can once again remain closed. During the course of the day, Anna meets her prince charming, Hans, and they instantly fall in love and decide to get married. Elsa is dumbfounded by this and become angry when Anna and Hans insist that they’re getting married. In her anger and fear, Elsa out lashes with the magic no one knew she had. Their guests call her a monster and start yelling to have her captured, but Elsa escapes, finally releasing herself from her self-made bondage of hiding her true self. Sadly, the release of her powers causes all of Arendelle to turn into a freezing winter despite the fact that it’s summer time. So, Anna sets out to confront her sister and try to stop winter. On the way, she meets Kristoff, Sven, and Olaf; all of them help her in her quest.

And, you’ll have to find out what happens on your own.

I loved this movie. It was warm, comical, at times romantic, adventurous, and a movie for people of all ages. Part of why I enjoyed this movie is because it didn’t focus on the romance. The movie is wonderful whether or not Anna gets the guy, and there aren’t really a lot of those movies out there right now where the main character doesn’t have to find the perfect significant other.

The story and characters are so easy to connect with and become invested in that some parts of this movie can become a tearjerker.

I highly recommend that you see this movie. Even if you aren’t a theater goer, make sure that you find yourself a copy after it’s released on DVD.